Daily Prompt #18: Do you Believe in Magic?


Daily Prompt: Do you Believe in Magic?.

You have been transformed into a mystical being who has the ability to do magic. Describe your new abilities in detail. How will you use your new skills?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us ENCHANTMENT.

It was a bright sunny morning. i just woke up to see myself lying on a cold wooden bench facing a stony bridge on my right.

mystical-226076

I was surprised to find myself like this. I remember i went from a late night party to my home where i was supposed to drink some more alcohol to keep myself warm in this cold winter but then something strange happened by then…

I woke up from the bench and started seeing the surronding lush greenery now. It was very foggy on one part of the bridge and very sunny on the side where i was now standing. Silky streams were running down the bridge and the sweet chirping of birds all around. I found a black dog lying just beside me which was now enjoying the sun beaming on its shiny fur. i further walked to towards the bridge making my way through the melting fog… aah.. a Graveyard on the foggy side of the bridge. There was the mixed scent of cinnamon and lavender on this side. Though it was pretty strange for a graveyard to have such a sweet smell.

I tried to compose myself again. What am i seeing? Is this a dream? or some chemical illusion? Uncle was right “Too much Alcohol is never good for mental health”. I once again returned back to the bench and started thinking what happened last night…My head was very heavy and my eyes droopy…

just then i closed my eyes and tried to recollect.

ripples

I reached out to the fridge and searched for some more drink and found one bottle full of wine. My sister is a big wine lover and hates anyone who touches her divine bottle without her notice. As soon as i opened the bottle i felt a strange dizzy sensation and immediately without wasting one single moment i emptied the whole bottle in an hour or so… and i could feel as if i was being dragged down to some valley …i ignored this thinking after so much of alcohol and wine “Alice in Wonderland” syndrome is common.

but who knew that its really gonna turn a nightmare like this…

1355141

I opened my eyes and saw the same bridge again. This time, more clear than ever. The fog had lifted its veil and i could now see the Graveyard more clearly. By now the dog had started following me wherever i went. I ran my hands on its head and then started walking towards the Bridge. After walking for a while i saw a fork in the road. I remembered Robert Frost’s lines

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

i chose to travel on the less travelled one and kept walking when i felt tired and sat under a tree. I saw an almost dying plant and ran my hands on it and was just breathing some fresh air. To my surprise, the plant was slowly regaining life… Magic!!! The plant started growing more rapidly until it started flowering. I was in awe.. i slowly started gaining speed and walked away from the plant…

As i was moving away i came across an old woman who was crying on a grave. i went near her and got to know that her son was dead and he can only be made alive by a flower which blooms when touched by human. I realised that i had touched that plant… i just consoled her and ran towards the tree to find that flower.

The plant was still there gleaming … i went and plucked a flower and ran towards the graveyard. The old woman cast some spell on the flower and her son came alive from the grave but i started feeling very weak. I now saw the old woman who was a witch in disguise. I felt as if I was being sucked into a blackhole but she started advancing towards me with a knife.

I started running but she just stabbed my heart and i felt a strong pain in my stomach. i regained my conscious to find my sister glaring me with a knife saying “You emptied the Wine Bottle ???? I wish i could stab you with this knife instead of waking you up with a kick”

I was really confused and said “ahhhh ok so you are the witch…”

My sister became more furious and said “Me and Witch??”

I apologised for my folly and then said i need some sleep….

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt #18: Do you Believe in Magic?

Share your feelings on this post

