Daily Prompt #20: Truth or Dare


Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare.

Is it possible to be too honest, or is honesty always the best policy?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us TRUTH.’

The answer for the above question was always a NO in my life until i picked up the book “Steve Jobs- Autobiography by Walter Isaacson”

I usually used to think hiding all the nasty, dirty truth inside the deep dungeon in your heart is the best thing that anyone can do to avoid people looking at you as an a$$****.

But i was wrong. Steve’s story taught me many things about life. Many people may hate Steve because he was never nice to people nor a philanthropist like Bill Gates. He was a very aggressive personality. But underneath all those dark and negative shades of Steve what I saw was that he was honest enough not to manipulate his autobiography. He allowed people to admire him, to express their anguish on him, to say those nastiest comments on all his mistakes. He had those guts to accept the good, bad and ugly about him.

The one thing that the year 2013 has taught me is to be honest to the maximum number of possibilities that life offers to me. And I am very proud of myself that I have had all the guts to present the good, bad and the ugly side of myself to some of my close friends. Initially they were taken aback to hear such stuffs from my end but later i was surprised as those friends embraced me with more love and more care.They accepted all my mistakes and in return gave me a new life. I am thankful to all my friends who have helped me become more honest in my life and helped me overcome some of my more dark shades in my life. Honestly, they have helped me to become a more better person than I was yesterday.

And yes, these many years i have been just reading “Honesty is the best policy” but 2013 has shown me “What is being Honest in real time scenario and why it is always the best policy”

Important one liner that i always ask myself whenever i incline more towards not being honest is …

Am I being honest to myself?

What is being “Honest” to you?

Please share your opinions with me. I would love to learn something new from you 🙂

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt #20: Truth or Dare

  1. Pingback: A Shade Of Pen

Share your feelings on this post

