Daily Prompt # 55:Black and White


All or Nothing?.

“Perhaps when we find ourselves wanting everything, it is because we are dangerously close to wanting nothing.” — Sylvia Plath

Which do you find more dangerous: wanting nothing, or wanting everything?

This was one tough post to write for me because it contains lots of indepth meaning on richness of one’s soul.

With my limited gyan in English, I had to google and google and finally I found the meaning

Perhaps when we find ourselves wanting everything it is because we are dangerously near to wanting nothing. There are two opposing poles of wanting nothing: When one is so full and rich and has so many inner worlds that the outer world is not necessary for joy, because joy emanates from the inner core of one’s being. When one is dead and rotten inside and there is nothing in the world: not all the woman, food, sun or mind-magic of others can reach the wormy core of one’s gutted soul planet.
-Sylvia Plath, The Journals of Sylvia Plath

Here I go with a poem. It describes the mindset of 2 people who are sitting near a green pasture  and contemplating on their lives.

Its that time of the day when the birds are returning to their nests….

The time when the sun waves a bye to this world and

people return from their daily jobs after doing their best….

and yet we both sit aside from the rest of the world and think, think, think…

I look at you…. a beautiful, contended and rich soul is all I can see with a strange blink….

I see myself, sensing a distorted, damaged and a rotten soul captivated by a zillion things in life…

I close my eyes and ask few questions which cut my heart like some surgical knife….

Why can’t I be good, just for once???

Why can’t I forget the past and live in the present?

Why can’t I be in bliss like her??

By the time I open my eyes, its dark and cold outside….

I see, the beautiful person is busy loading her back pack and leaving the pasture with pride…

I see past the horizon and can see the sun and his final golden lining getting diluted in the vast zenith…

I get up from the pasture and start walking….

I try to follow her and begin stalking ….

“Why are you leaving from this place so fast?” I ask her

With a beautiful smile on her face she replied which was at first, hard to decipher….

“I am happy with the moments of bliss which I got from by watching the sun setting slowly underneath the zenith… I am happy I got to sit with another beautiful soul like you….who was contented with the emptiness that life offers to all of us… I wished I could be like you… Thats enough”

She asked me “Why are you leaving ?”

I replied “I was happy with the dead soul inside me which is grieving ….

The soul has been ripped off by my bad karma and now

All i see is only the world and not the beauty of it now….

It doesn’t matter what appears in the sky or what doesn’t…

All that matters is to see a beautiful soul who I once used to be…”

We both started walking towards our destination silently…

I slowly looked behind the path we walked and …..

All i saw was just one trail of foot prints and not two…

I then realized that all this time I was with none other than me and my soul….

Hardships made us strong

Betrayals made us even more strong

Tears gave us the strength to conquer the unconquered…

Pain taught us to be resilient…

Our reflections taught us to crave for all and despise all….

We are both a product of all our desires and unwanted cravings from life…

We were both the examples of what happens when a man reaches two extremities of life…

We were nothing but numb and contended with all that we had in our lives

Happy to be at peace from the inner-being

Peaceful with the acceptance of dead rotten soul inside us…..

I smiled to myself to see the black and white side of mine in this one evening…

And i remembered the lines

“Perhaps when we find ourselves wanting everything it is because we are dangerously near to wanting nothing”

 So coming back to the daily prompt, here are my thoughts on the same.

Too much of anything is always bad… Too much richness or too much emptiness, both are lethal to any human being. Life should be a mixture of both. Some amount of inner happiness blended with some amount of sad moments too. Once your heart learns to be happy and accept the sadness, your soul can grow grow and grow because it has seen both success and failure

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt # 55:Black and White

  1. Hi Ambika,

    Thanks for another thought provoking post!
    One has to interact with the human residing inside himself only then he could figure out what is missing and what is needed.

    Keep writing, Keep inspiring!

    Thanks,
    Kishore Kumar B R

Share your feelings on this post

