Daily Prompt # 65:A time to mend a broken heart…


Another Trio.

Write about any topic you wish, but make sure your post features a bookcase, something cracked, and a song you love.

This story is purely fictional

Tina sat beside the window sill looking at a distance and was lost in thoughts. It was midnight 12:00 AM and she was sitting all alone with a cracked heart. She could not think of any other song than “I will always love you” by Whitney Houston.

She thought to herself how strange is that, sometimes the lyrics of the songs which you hear exactly reciprocates to those million feelings which you experience in your heart.

She then walked towards the bookcase and took out a big binder. It was filled with hundreds of things which reminded her of her ex-boyfriend. Emails, Greeting Cards, Photographs and hundreds of loose sheets filled with poems and odes in the celebration of those good old days. In a week or so she was about to get married with Rohan. And she felt, it is time to burn this biggest mistake of her life forever.

She took the chronologically arranged stack of sheets in her hand. She plugged her iPod into her ears and let the same song by Whitney Houston play again….

The song went by….

If I should stay
I would only be in your way
So I’ll go but I know
I’ll think of you every step of the way

She brought the steel dustbin from the corner of her room and set the first 10 letters which they had written for each other. She thought to herself how easy it must have been for him to say I should move out of his way. Bastard.

And I… will always love you, ooh
Will always love you
You
My darling, you…
Mmm-mm

Love?? She questioned herself. One fucking word which has literally broke her heart a million times relentlessly. She took out the pressed rose which she had gifted to him on his birthday. The flower had a tag “For a person who brought a sweet fragrance to my odorless life”. There came a crooked smile on her face and off she tore the tag and the flower into the burning flame.

Bittersweet memories –
That is all I’m taking with me.
So good-bye.
Please don’t cry:
We both know I’m not what you, you need

Cry? Bastard. Swine. You don’t even deserve the last droplet from the dried up reservoir of tears from my heart. All you ever deserve is a lesson … maybe you should host a  seminar on “101 ways to break someone’s heart” She took out the red envelope which had his first greeting card to her on Valentines Day.

And I… will always love you
I… will always love you
You, ooh

She cursed him again “Fucking asshole… drowned me in the ocean of emotions and now left me with pile of haunting memories… Just die” and threw 20 more sheets into the flame. The flames were getting more and more intense when she went to kitchen and brought some Kerosene and poured it on the teddy bear he had gifted just before they broke up.

I hope life treats you kind
And I hope you have all you’ve dreamed of
And I wish you joy and happiness
But above all this I wish you love

She then put the entire binder into the dustbin and sat on the sofa. She pulled the earphones for once and deleted the song from her playlist. She then took her diary from the book case and wrote

“Off its gone away permanently from the bookcase of my life….

Gone are the haunting memories of a fucking asshole who kept pestering me day and night…

Its time to let go of all the things now and start a new life…..

Its time to mend this broken heart with a new song…

A song of hope… a song of faith and a song of determination to lead a positive life…

Forgiving the unforgivable is difficult but I got to do that for myself and my peace of mind….

I don’t wanna go back and dig those dead graves back….Because I can see the sun rising from the horizon in a matter of few hours….

Its time to gulp down some sleeping pills and to enter into a tranquil world …. away from the constant humming of some distorted tunes ….

Its time to get up and move on…. “

She closed the diary and popped up some pills and in few minutes drifted into a world of tranquility.

“God can heal a broken heart, but He has to have all the pieces – Anonymous”

6 thoughts on “Daily Prompt # 65:A time to mend a broken heart…

    1. hell yes. I just don’t understand how easy it is for some people to despise love even when it is showered on them in an unconditional way.

      1. Its easy for them cause they never knew what it means to love with everything one has got😔 then again its there loss cause they lost someone who would have bought the world to its knees jus for them👍

      2. Well tats de down side also sometimes they wont even knw tat we are in pain its like we do not exist n we are just a joke for them tats why i say its better to die by the bullet rather than getting hurt in love daily✌️

Share your feelings on this post

