Daily Prompt # 66:Analysis of Consequences


Cause, Meet Effect. You can singlehandedly create a causal relation between two things that are currently unconnected — a word and an emotion, a song and an extreme weather event, wearing a certain color and winning the lottery. What cause would you link to what effect, and why? One of the most common problems, that I usually face is in handling my own anger. I am very very thankful to my Yoga Practice and my friends who help me to calm down each day, each hour. But recently as I was reading the Millennium series book #1, I remember when Holger Palmgren, first guradian of Lisbeth Salander advises her to think of consequences before picking up a fight with anyone in society. In the story, the girl Salander is an intelligent,genius computer hacker, chain smoker and an anti social personality. On observing her behavior, Plamgren advises her the importance of not reacting to any situation violently. Instead, he emphasizes on how to keep calm and think of consequences before venting out. In this way, he manages to teach Lisbeth, how to manage darkest of the situations in her life. After finishing the first series, I pondered over those words again. And yesterday, one of my friends asked me to shut myself from outer world and reboot myself for atleast 15 min a day. He advised me to just keep my mouth shut and stay quiet and think nothing for 15 min. I went back to my home and before retiring to bed, I was re-thinking the lines told by my friend over and over again until i drifted off to sleep. But today as I woke up, to my surprise I was once again thinking of the same advice again. I then remembered the most famous quote by Confucius. “When anger rises, think of the consequences” quote-Confucius-when-anger-rises-think-of-the-consequences-41294_1   So as I was rebooting myself early in the morning, I was becoming conscious of my own self and I realized few moments where I fucked up very badly with my anger. Thanks to my friend and the book for making me realize such a simple fact which almost has ruined many things in my life. When things go off the track, you need that one person who can bring you back to the same track by offering you some genuine advice.

Share your feelings on this post

