Daily Prompt # 81:All men are not dogs!!!


In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “180 Degrees.”

Tell us about a time you did a 180 — changed your views on something, reversed a decision, or acted in a way you ordinarily don’t.

Let me start this post with a very beautiful quote by Kahlil Gibran

The deeper sorrow carves into your being, the more joy you can contain.It is very much true in our lives. We crave for love, and we meet heartbreaking moments. We crave for happiness and we meet many a sorrow filled moments. We crave for something and we get something else. All leading to answer less questions like

WHY ME?

So what exactly is the role of pain in our lives? 

Pain defines our life by refining us. It makes us better human beings. Without pain, we would never love the fruits of blessings in our life. Pain makes space for more good things to flow in our lives, only if we allow PAIN to teach us meaningful lessons in our life.

Coming back to the topic of today’s daily prompt. “All men are not dogs” below is my experience which was narrated to me by a girl whom I met on a bus journey few days back. (P.S I won’t get into details of how we met and what led to this talk. Instead I would prefer to write the gist of the talk)

She was young, beautiful and intelligent and had a decent job in her hands too. What was missing in her life was “LOVE”. She said during her teens, she had dated few boys who actually made her life quite a mess and had turned her heart into a garbage. She no longer felt like trusting men again. She felt like ALL MEN ARE DOGS. After years of mingling with different kind of people, she had finally accepted that there exists no man in this Universe who can make her statement on men turn FALSE.

Its during one of her business trips with a major company, she discovered a heart turning event in her life. She was on a business trip and was reading the book “LEAN IN” by Sheryl Sandberg. And the below quotes actually gave her better quality on who should be her life partner.

Sheryl Sandberg QuotesAs she read this she asked herself, whether she wanted to spend the rest of her life alone, caged in a 2 Bedroom apartment of her own and brood over her past choices or make a bold choice and move on. After turning few more pages in the book, yet another quote changed her perceptions on having a life partner forever.

Sheryl Sandberg Quotes

 

She asked herself “What would she do if she weren’t afraid of another heartbreak?” Her heart answered “Go and find the guy who can stick to her through thick and thin”. That’s when she started dating her best friend and slowly he changed her perception and made her believe in the statement that ALL MEN ARE NOT DOGS.

He made her feel comfortable in her own skin and asked her to see life from a different perspective. Past choices helped her reform her own behavior and one fine day, she knew she had the perfect life partner right infront of her. And it was not someone who was having looks and charm of Adonis, instead it was her own best friend who helped her trust in her capabilities, who helped her fix her wings and let her fly alone in the vast world. He was sexy in his own terms. He was sexy in his views on this world and was bold enough to help her in her decisions.

She never felt she was tied to common notion of “You are a woman, you got to be like this”. Instead she felt “I am the woman who can be whom I want to be”. As she said all this to me, I asked her one final question….

“So you are all set to marry your best friend”

She smiled and said ” Hell yes, I will marry that man who fixed my wings back. He turned my heart around and made me rethink on how I saw men in our society”

It was indeed an actual 180 Degree moment I saw in my life. This story really helped me to change few views on men and has helped me to find a better life partner for me in future.

Thanks for reading this post.

Lots of love and hugs,

ARK

17 thoughts on “Daily Prompt # 81:All men are not dogs!!!

      1. hello! I haven’t been participating that much in the *repeat* daily prompts, so out of touch with many of the Daily Prompters. The blogging is still happening, poetry writing. I keep thinking every poem is my last, but then I get surprised! Good to read your posts, I’m listening to Caught in the Rain at the moment, thank you! 🙂

      2. oh yes. due to typhoid and hand injury i could not blog for a while. now I am blogging again.

        Thinking each poem is your last actually makes each poem a masterpiece of its own. Thanks for listening to “Caught in the rain”. Its a beautiful piece of music.

      3. yes. it was indeed a tough journey man. thanks to my close friend @kishorekumarbr for being with me and helping me to recover this fast.

  1. Don get me wrong.. Ah Few men are dogs, there are dog for their sense and practice of loyalty… 😛

    Good collection Ambika ..:) going thru some of your older posts so don be surprised if you find my comments … 😛

    1. hahahahaha i like your perception 🙂 great idea for my next post “Some men are dogs” LOL.

      Many thanks for going through my archives.

      1. Its more of a fact i would like to interpret..:) hey this time praise the dog..:P and currently this week am going thru your archives at office .. so do be bedazzled if you find a comment on really old posts. Cheers to life.. 🙂

      2. no no…. i do it quite often. visiting old blogs and going through their archives. its nice to see evolution of a blogger from post to post. Many thanks for going through the posts.

      3. oh that’s great. I was watching this 1 Movie in telugu and inspired by that I am writing one post. Why do you post 3 articles at once?

      4. i will give you a free advice…. post one at a time…. schedule them. in that way… your blog will be evergreen all the time…. one post per day creates even better impression “Hemakesh writes daily OMG What a genius” ROFL 🙂 CHANCE PE DANCE MARO DOST

      5. hahaha..Gracias senorita… But yea i do write every day put sometimes i jus keep it to myself and end up posting all at once too… But great idea though..

Share your feelings on this post

