Daily Prompt #98 – What No One Tells You About Loneliness


When you’re unwell, do you allow others to take care of you, or do you prefer to soldier on alone? What does it take for you to ask for help?
Source: Take Care

For the first time in my history of blogging Daily Prompts, the prompt and the state of my health are in perfect sync with each other.

Since morning, I am feeling nausea and restlessness. Thanks to the great weekend, full of surprises and lots of long night outs… I skipped my beauty sleep and enjoyed my life to the fullest. Sometimes, skipping sleep is okay when you have hundreds of exciting things waiting for you infront of your eyes.

Coming back to today’s prompt I have split the post in 2 parts

~Part 1~

When you’re unwell, do you allow others to take care of you, or do you prefer to soldier on alone?

I would prefer to soldier on alone for 2 reasons

  1. Long back someone very dear to me once said “You would not have come back from that shit if it wasn’t for me” and that sentence really made me so strong that, I rarely give any person a chance to show that he/she is doing some charity for me.
  2. I always embraced SOLITUDE to such an extent that, when I am in need of help, the closest person who can help me is ME.

~Part 2~

What does it take for you to ask for help?

When I feel that I cannot take it anymore, I would phone my friends and ask for some help.

~Conclusion~

I am sure the above statements would clearly portray me as a very rude woman but I am okay with whatever people think of me. Because, they can be just spectator to my situation and cannot take the ownership of paying my bills tomorrow.

So, its okay to soldier on alone and go the extra mile… because at times, OUR FEARS ARE THE BIGGEST LIARS on this planet. The fear of breaking down actually makes you weak and convinces you that you really need someone. One tip for all those people out there ailing from any form of sickness… always remember “Its going to be hard but hard is not IMPOSSIBLE”

So…

Be alone, Eat alone, take care of yourself alone because in the midst of this loneliness, you will find your true self.

You will grow. You will find your inspiration. You will live your dreams.You will find your clarity. – Bianca Sparacino

For those of you who do not know who is Bianca, read below

Bianca Sparacino is a writer from Toronto, Ontario who aims to write honestly about the beauty that arises from the contrasts of life. From love, and loss, to joy and regret, she has dedicated herself to turning the human condition into poetry. When she’s not writing, Bianca enjoys a shameful amount of black coffee, dusty old vintage shops, and studying Neuroscience. Some of her biggest influencers are Anais Nin, Anna Karina, and Susan Sontag. She has a very good tumblr site where you can go and read her tumblr posts filled with self help material and lots of interesting motivational stuff.

Src: ThoughtCatalog

