The Solitary Writer

Journeying through solitude, crafting one blog post at a time, in silence.

Beyond the Brotherhood: Breaking Free from the Community

Published by

on


Motorcycling is not a word. It’s an emotion. The open road, the wind in my hair, the camaraderie of fellow riders – motorcycling used to be synonymous with pure joy. Early morning Bangalore escapes, foggy highways, and breakfast pit stops with my biker family – those were the golden days. But somewhere along the line, the shine wore off.

This isn’t a fairytale recollection of my blissful motorcycle chronicles. This is a raw, honest look at the underbelly of certain motorcycle communities, a perspective rarely shared. If you’re expecting sunshine and rainbows, click away. But if you’re open to hearing a different side of the story, then welcome, friend.

In 2018, my relationship with my motorcycle group fractured. The cracks had been forming for a while – the toxicity, the pressure to conform, the internal politics. Stepping away was the hardest yet most liberating decision I made. Solo riding became my sanctuary, offering freedom from adhering to the so-called “Motorcycling Think Tanks” and drama. I was tired of stifling my voice to please big egos.

“Lady biker groups” offered a glimmer of hope, but the reality was equally disappointing. I witnessed their internalised misogyny, the petty jealousies, and the unsaid hierarchies. So yet again, I felt that solo riding is perhaps the best thing that suited my personality.

Did I miss the camaraderie? Absolutely. But the mental peace I gained was priceless. Freedom from hierarchies, freedom to ride at my own pace, freedom to prioritize my life and career – these were the true rewards. My career took off, once I let go of this craze biker meetups and all the shit. I run my own race now and I do not want to be dictated or governed by some community. After all, I pay for my petrol and I pay for my house rent. So, why should I care for some idiot who is texting “Our group does not tolerate this or that”.

Leaving the “group craze” behind wasn’t easy, but it opened doors I never imagined. I met inspiring solo riders across India, made connections outside the community, and discovered a newfound tolerance and inner peace. Now, I prepare my own route maps, and explore the places that are atypical to the conventional bikers. It could be an old temple or a small picturesque village. It does not matter whether it is IG worthy or not. All that matters is the journey. The biker brothers whom I love to my heart are still in touch with me. They are there whenever I need them and vice versa. I cherish our togetherness even now and I continue my journey alone.

In solitude, the soul comes to face its own nothingness and, paradoxically, finds everything.

– Jean-Paul Sartre

Comments

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.